Latest News - 2012

Media organisations commended for efforts to uplift society


The inaugural National Press Club/Proudly South African media award – for upliftment of communities through the media – has been jointly awarded to the Primedia Broadcasting/Independent Group of Newspapers initiative, Lead SA and the SABC’s Touching Lives campaign.
The award was handed over to both media organisations by the CEO of the Proudly South African campaign, Adv. Leslie Sedibe, at the National Press Club Newsmaker Awards, in Pretoria at the weekend.
“The award recognises that South African media organisations and journalists are actively participating in efforts to uplift their fellow man and improve our country. This speaks to the spirit of Ubuntu which has always been an integral part of who we are as a nation.” said Adv. Sedibe.
“We congratulate Lead SA and Touching Lives for their marked efforts to uplift South African communities and society through the media. These initiatives show that irrespective of occupation or social standing, every proud and patriotic South African can choose to stand up and make a positive difference in their own sphere of influence – no matter how big or small,” he added. 
This year’s award was received by CEO of Primedia Broadcasting, Terry Volkwyn and the SABC’s Group Chief Executive of News and Current Affairs, Phil Molefe.

“Lead SA is about standing up and doing the right thing and making a difference. It’s about active citizenship. Thank you for the recognition,” said Volkwyn.

“We appreciate the award and we thank the National Press Club and Proudly South African. Touching Lives is making a difference,” said Molefe.

The introduction of the new National Press Club/ Proudly South African award also cements the partnership between the organisations and will be presented annually.

Chairperson of the National Press Club, Yusuf Abramjee, thanked Proudly South African for the partnership.
“We have agreed that it is important that we recognise and award media organisations or individuals within our industry that pride themselves on making a difference,” said Abramjee.

“Corporate social investment is a non-negotiable. Let me congratulate the various media houses for the many initiatives that they are doing. These include areas around community development, education, job creation, sport and alleviating poverty. Philanthropy and making a positive change should be non-negotiable. These initiatives show that the media organisations today are not only bystanders, but active participants in creating a better South Africa. We would have loved to have awarded each and every campaign, but we have singled out one or two,” he added.

“We congratulate Lead SA for the powerful initiative which promotes active citizenship. Lead SA has tackled issues such as education, road safety and environmental issues. It has made a major impact in a short space of time,” said Adv. Sedibe.

“Touching Lives most certainly touches lives. They continue to assist and this is commendable. The SABC has most certainly showed its commitment to CSI,” added Adv. Sedibe.    

Proudly SA congratulates the winners in other categories. These include:
Barry Bateman, Eyewitness News (Overall: Journalist of the Year 2011)
Thabiso Thakali, Saturday Star (Print: Journalist of the Year)
Jane Vorster, YOU Magazine (Print Features category)
Craig Nieuwenhuizen, Foto 24 (Photography category)
Thebeetsile Keameditse, SABC (Radio Features Journalist of the Year)
Lirandzu Themba, eTV (TV News category)
Odette Schwegler & Nicola de Chaud, Carte Blanche (TV Features)
Tutuko Zondi, eTV (TV Cameraperson of the Year)
Taurai Maduna, Eyewitness News (Online category)
Mandy Wiener, Eyewitness News (Social Media category)
McIntosh Polela, The Hawks (Media Liaison Officer of the Year)
Nic Dawes, Mail & Guardian (Editor of the Year)

Proudly SA supports excellence in journalism, ethical and fair reporting and lauds media practitioners who are committed to informing the public through objective and accurate reporting, for the betterment of South Africa.

For further information, contact:
Gillian de Gouveia
PR Manager: Proudly SA
Cell: 082 410 1195

Bookmark and Share